My Farm My Story

The Missouri Department of Agriculture has a new video series called “My Farm My Story” and our family farm was chosen to be one of the featured farms.  I spent part of a day  a few months back being interviewed and explaining how our farm works.  It was a fun day for me because I love sharing our farm story with others.  The journalist was energetic and eager to help share the story of our family farm in a personal way that would interest viewers.   It was a great opportunity for me to help people know how modern hog farms work and the relationship we share with our veterinarian.

Antibiotic usage on farms today is a hot topic and I want people to understand we use antibiotics judiciously under the guidance of our herd veterinarian.  The most important job I will ever have is being a mom, and I take this responsibility seriously.  I want my kids to have healthy and safe food just like all moms do.  I love being a farmer but I love being a mom more; my kids motivate me to always go above and beyond to keep our animals safe and healthy.  I can’t speak for all farmers, but all the farmers I know feel the same way I do when it comes to animal care.  We want to protect our animals and keep them safe and healthy and antibiotics are one of the tools we have in our toolbox to help keep our animals healthy.

I hope you enjoy the video and learn a little along the way too!

 

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agriculture, education, family, food, livestock care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Farm My Story

  1. Glenn M. Hillhouse, Jr. says:

    Glad chrischinn.wordpress.com has returned. You have been missed!

  2. Donna Dickneite says:

    Saw your “My Farm My Story’ on facebook and shared. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE how you told your story. My husband and I also raise pigs and we’re doing a presentation at our local school next week, so I might borrow some of your talking points. Keep up the good work, Love your blog also. Thanks for sharing your story with the world.

Leave a Reply

