It’s Been a LONG Time!

Cattle 2015

2015 Cows and their new calves in the pasture as the day comes to an end.

It’s been over a year since I have blogged and I feel a little guilty.  A lot has happened on our farm over the last year.  Our beans didn’t get planted last year due to the extreme amounts of rain.   That was depressing!  We struggled all summer to put up hay.  We had a great fall for harvesting our corn but harvest was short since we had no beans to harvest.  We planted our cover crops and with that our fall field work was over as quick as it started.  

I always try to find the silver lining during a struggle and last year was definitely a trying year. For our family, the silver lining of not getting our beans planted was Kevin had more time to watch our kids play football and softball.  He still missed a lot of games but he made it to more games than he ever has.

Our daughter is in her last year of high school which also means her last year living at home.  Last February this reality hit me like a rock!  I was about to experience everything with my daughter for the last time; her last summer of traveling softball, her last school softball season, her last first day of school, her last homecoming, her last prom, her last track season and her last FFA Banquet.  A friend I met through the pork industry, Jesse, told me to savor every moment I had left with her.  He advised me to make time for her, more time than I normally would because in the blink of an eye, she would be on her own and spreading her wings to fly.

I took that advice to heart and started living in the moment with her.  I am so thankful to Jesse for reminding what I was about to miss out on.  I am like most moms, I don’t know how to say no and I love to multi-task.  Sometimes this can make my life a little hectic so  I decided to cut back on a few of the things I was involved in so I could make the most of her last year at home.  With that, I resigned from a few committees I served on and I let my blog sit idle so I could be with my family.  I have no regrets!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Softball season was a blast for us.  Rachelle had a great season and it was so much fun to watch her team work hard and battle it out on the field.  They were the “Cinderella” team, they weren’t expected to go anywhere but they believed in each other and they never gave up on themselves. The team was a family, they supported each other and they brought home the first Softball District Championship for our school. It was such an exciting time for the girls, coaches and parents. As soon as our last game was over, we knew we would miss the game, coaches and girls. Rachelle has played softball since she was five years old; it will be weird not watching her play this summer. I might actually have time to mow my yard this year.

Conner played football last fall also. I am not as well versed in football but he did great for his first season. He made several tackles and he walked off the field after each game unhurt. That was a huge blessing for this mom; I was a nervous wreck during each game. It was difficult for me to watch, his dad enjoyed the games a lot more than I did. In between games and practices, Conner helped with the fall calving and the short harvest. He has grown a foot this year, literally!

This spring we have been busy getting our corn planted and weaning calves. This is (most likely) the last year Rachelle will be able to help wean the calves for a while. I think she is secretly happy about not having to wake up at the crack of dawn on a Saturday morning to wean! Her dad will miss teasing her about not being a morning person.

This week we are preparing for Rachelle’s senior prom. We have been trying to keep the yard mowed in between rains and weed out my flower beds so her pictures look nice. This is normally the only time my flower beds look great with no weeds! Sunday we finished planting our corn, what a relief! Our rye is getting close to cutting for hay and Kevin is busy getting the hay equipment ready to head to the fields.

Spring is definitely here, and it’s always a difficult time to get Conner motivated to go to school each morning! He’d rather be in a tractor helping his dad or feeding the hogs or cattle. Each morning there is a discussion where Conner tries to convince me he is needed on the farm more than he is needed in the classroom. Bless his heart, he finds some creative reasons to try and make me change my mind!

Both kids are running track this year so I have been spending a lot of evenings watching kids run! It’s been a bit chaotic but I’m trying to enjoy each minute of it. This will be the last time I have to worry about making it to two kids’ track meets on the same night in different towns. It’s bitter sweet! I can’t wait for school to be over so I can spend more time with the kids! Their teachers see them more than I do right now, I’m envious of that. (And I’m sure their teachers are envious of me because I’m not in school with kids eight hours a day!)

The coming month will be busy with graduation, putting up hay, and hopefully planting beans. I hope I can blog more than I have been but my first priority right now is to enjoy my kids and live in the moment! Thanks again Jesse for the great advice!

Pigs 2016

This little ham likes the camera!

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agriculture, family, livestock care, Uncategorized, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Been a LONG Time!

  1. Ah! you have been missed! Keep on Blogging!

  2. Becky says:

    Great job — as usual. I had missed your blog.

  3. Janet Mershon says:

    Thanks for taking the time to share, I always love to hear about the family and farm.

Leave a Reply

