Department of Labor Pulls the Proposed Child Labor Regulations

farm kid working with a young pigTonight I received some news that made my day!  The kids and I were taking care of our cattle when I glanced down at my phone because I had a message.   I had to do a double take when I read the note from a friend that read, “DOL heard us, they are dropping child labor regs!”  I couldn’t believe my eyes!  At first I thought it was a typo but when I opened up the link she sent and read this news release from the American Farm Bureau, I knew it was for real!

When I shared the good news with the kids, Rachelle was just as shocked as I was.  The first words out of her mouth were “You mean I won’t be in trouble now for working with you and dad on the farm?”  When I told her that was exactly what this news meant she screamed, “YES!  I can work with my heifer now and not get you in trouble with DOL!”

Conner was Mr. Cool about the news, he just shrugged his shoulders and said, “I knew they would figure it out!”  He made both Rachelle and I laugh.

This news wouldn’t have been possible if it wasn’t for the work of so many people.   Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Rep. Denny Rehberg (R-Mont.) and others in Congress, THANK YOU for supporting our family farm and the future of our children.  And a big thank you to all of the farmers and ranchers who took the time to make phone calls, write letters and blog about the impact this proposed rule would have on family farms and ranches all over the USA.   My children’s future to farm looks brighter tonight because we took the time to voice our concerns.  It just goes to show one person can make a difference.  THANKS to everyone who helped make a difference!

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agchat, agriculture, education, education, family, Farm Bureau, FFA, food, government and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Department of Labor Pulls the Proposed Child Labor Regulations

  1. The Queen says:

    Doing the Happy Dance in KS!!!!

  2. Karen says:

    So very happy to hear this!! And grateful to those in Congress who are willing to fight to let kids experience the joys I did growing up on a farm :) (from Vermont)

  3. Val Plagge says:

    I was very happy and relieved to hear it too! I was proud to be apart of the “thousands” of comments they talked about in their news release. Thanks for all your work you did on this too. It was great to see you at the #140ConfDM.

  4. Found your Blog during an internet search on Farm Heritage. Glad to read that you helped stand up for the family working together. My husband, Gordon W. Fredrickson, is a children’s book author who is trying to preserve that Farm Heritage through his stories. He has been writing for many years but finding a national publisher was impossible (they didn’t want anything to do with farming) & even finding a local publisher (we’re in Minnesota) was difficult. But we found Beaver’s Pond Press in Edina, MN started by Milt Adams at age 70. Milt, a city guy, recognized the value of Gordon’s stories because of his own experience of only one summer at age 14 on a cousin’s farm where he learned to milk cows by hand, do field work with horses, raise pigs & chickens. He loved it on the farm. Milt said that the work ethic he learned that summer stuck with him his entire life & made him the success in business that he was. He said these farm heritage stories needed to be published & so they now are being published one at a time. Gordon’s stories are of a farm family in 1950 on their small dairy farm where everyone works together. To ensure that farm heritage is preserved Gordon says we have to tell our own stories & a story not told is lost forever. You can check out Gordon’s website & Blog at http://www.gordonfredrickson.com. He hopes that in 150-200 years people will pick up his books & say, “So, this is how it was for a kid on a family farm in 1950!” Good luck with your family farm! Nancy Fredrickson

Leave a Reply

