Technology on the Farm and My Dot Matrix Printer

This week was another crazy week.  My new computer for the farm is almost ready to take over for my old computer that was slowly dying.  My biggest challenge has been to get all of our customized farm programs transferred and compatible to a 64 bit computer and to Windows 7.   Many of my programs had to be updated to work with Windows 7.  This took some time and of course, more money.  I have one more program that will not work yet but I am closer than I was last week at this time.  (Hopefully the software company will be able to find a quick fix and have me back to normal within 6 – 8 weeks.  UGH!)  Until then, I am limping along and holding my breath that my old computer doesn’t give out on me.    

I have been fighting with my computer for over a month now.  I haven’t been able to use my dot matrix printer for the last five weeks and my work was really piling up.  I know – no one uses a dot matrix printer anymore, which is technology from the 1990’s.  However, I couldn’t live without my dot matrix printer.  My family wishes the printer would die because it’s too loud and it squawks.  I tell them it’s one guaranteed way for me to clear everyone out of my office and give me some ‘quiet’ time.    

So why would anyone still use a dot matrix printer in the year 2012 you might ask?  We use triple copy carbon paper for our sow cards and the dot matrix allows us to print three copies of the sow information at one time.  This allows us to tear off one copy of the information when the sow gives birth (farrows) and to keep the other two copies with the sow.  The single copy comes to my office and I enter all of the data into my computer.  When the sow is bred, we tear off the second copy and I enter the new data into the computer.  This allows us to always have a copy of the sow’s history with her at all times.  Once the sow breeding data is entered, I will print off a new triple copy sow card with the updated history and it will replace the old card.

Not having my printer for the last five weeks has really put me behind.  I spent the last two days printing sow cards and I am still not caught up.  Everyone who came near my office complained about the noise level.  I just smiled because I was finally getting caught up on my work!

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agchat, agriculture, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology on the Farm and My Dot Matrix Printer

  1. Mike Haley says:

    I think we have an identical dot matrix printer in storage, I will see if it didn’t get thrown out during the move. It still,was working 5 years ago…. If we didn’t throw it out it’s yours!

Leave a Reply

