I’ve Been Watching You Dad

Yesterday morning, Kevin walked into my office followed by our son, Conner, about 10 paces behind him.  Kevin was in a hurry and was walking very briskly and little Conner was doing his best to keep up.  He knew dad had important business to discuss with me and he didn’t want to miss a word of it. 

Kevin & Conner heading to the hay field after they stopped in the office to check the weather map on my computer.

Conner watched his dad intently as Kevin and I searched for some information on the internet to help him fix his rake.  It was an intense search because he needed to mow hay but his rake was broke.  A broken rake really messes up the mowing and baling process because the rake is needed after the hay is mowed.   And, as Conner politely pointed out to me, “you can’t bale hay without it being raked.” 

After we found the information Kevin needed, they headed back to the hay field to start tearing apart the rake.  Conner ran to keep up with his dad as they left my office.  It was a pretty cute picture to see Conner chasing after his dad.  Kevin forgets his legs are a lot longer than Conner’s.

When the ‘boys’ came in last night, Conner was still about 10 paces behind his dad.  Conner told me before he went to bed that he really loved being with his dad but he wished his dad could take shorter steps.  He went on to tell me that he needed a different pair of plyers because his were not like his dad’s.  I didn’t think much about the plyers until I walked out into the kitchen this morning to find Conner digging in my tool drawer. 

My tool drawer consists of tools that are mine, they were given to me 16 years ago when Kevin and I married.  The note with the wedding gift said, “every farm wife needs her own set of tools.”  In my tool drawer I have a hammer, plyers, screwdrivers, and wrenches.  Conner sat on the floor and was staring at my plyers which have a red handle like his dad’s.  On the floor next to Conner laid his blue handled plyers.  Conner saw me looking at him and he said, “I sure would like to have a pair of plyers like dad’s.”  That melted my heart.  I told Conner we could trade plyers if he wanted to.  His face lit up, he was so excited. 

With the red plyers in his hand, Conner ran to see where his dad was and then he ran to his bedroom.  He came out of his room a few minutes later wearing a shirt the exact same color as his dad’s.  We forget sometimes that kids idolize their parents.  Conner’s actions reminded me that our kids are our most valuable asset and they are always watching us and learning from us.  Conner wants to be just like his dad, and that’s o.k. with me.  I’m glad Conner idolizes his dad; Conner can learn a lot more from his dad than he can from idolizing a celebrity.

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agchat, agriculture, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

