Ugh…The Kids Dentist Appointment

Today I woke up knowing it would be a busy day of rushing here and there. The kids had dentist appointments at two this afternoon, and the dentist is about 75 miles from the farm. I had two conference calls to be a part of today on top of my normal routine. This wasn’t going to be a normal day!

I dropped the kids off at school and raced back home to get all my daily work done in four hours! Kevin checked the cattle and then called me to research some health records on a cow. This delayed my day even more! Doesn’t this cow understand – I’m working on a tight schedule today. But that’s what reality is on the farm, our livestock come first and we drop everything to care for them. It doesn’t matter what our plans may be, the hogs and cattle come first!

As a result of this cow, I didn’t get all of my work done but I did get to the dentist office on time with the kids! We were there just in time to sit and wait for 50 minutes! And of course, I was wishing I was at the farm catching up on my work! Just as I was about to lose my patience the dentist appeared and apologized. He had a child with a broken tooth come in before we arrived and he had to give the child his attention first. I completely understood where he was coming from, its the same for us on the farm. If an animal needs our attention, our kids, our chores and our appointments come second.

It was nice to know farmers aren’t the only people who live their lives around unexpected incidents on a daily basis. And it was nice to know I wasn’t the only one who was having a rushed day. I am very glad people like my children’s dentist dedicate their lives to caring for others, just like my family does for our livestock.

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ugh…The Kids Dentist Appointment

  1. Pingback: Ugh…The Kids Dentist Appointment | Farmer Bloggers

  2. emelyn says:

    Nice and it is simple.

Leave a Reply

