FFA Comes to Church

This week is National FFA week and it was a great surprise for me to walk into church yesterday morning and witness a sea of Blue & Gold FFA jackets lining the front rows of our church.  Our pastor explained it was FFA week and that the FFA chapter from our local high school was joining us to kick off the week.  He asked a member to come forward and recite the FFA Creed.  He said he knew of no better way to explain what FFA was and how it impacted each of our lives on a daily basis.

When the FFA member finished the creed, a friend’s son leaned over to me and said, “wow, that is a long creed.”  I smiled at him and agreed and I also said, and I bet you could memorize it just as well.  Jake is 13 years old and he smiled up at me and said, “you know, I plan to join FFA when I get into high school.”   I told Jake I thought his Grandpa would be very proud of him if he joined FFA.  Jake’s grandpa was a farmer in our county for many years and his greatest joy was his grandkids.  We lost Jake’s Grandpa 5 years ago to cancer but he was a special man to many people in our community.   I know Jake’s grandpa would be full of joy to hear Jake say he wanted to join FFA.  And Jake’s mom couldn’t have been prouder when she heard Jake wanted to join FFA.     

It’s very impressive to see the Blue & Gold Jackets, I always get goosebumps when I see them.   It’s even more impressive when you have a child that is looking up to the members wearing those jackets.   My kids are like Jake, they can’t wait to join FFA and wear those Blue & Gold jackets.   Conner told me yesterday the reason he is raising his chickens is so he can be a member of FFA and make a difference in someone’s life.

To all you members wearing the Blue & Gold jackets, keep up the good work and keep wearing those jackets with pride.  You may not know it, but you are making a huge impression on the lives of younger kids.  They look up to you and they yearn to be in your shoes someday.  Enjoy every minute of wearing those jackets, time goes by too fast and before you know it, your jacket will be hanging on a hook in the closet but the values you learned in FFA will stay with you for a lifetime!

PS – Don’t forget to thank your instructor this week, they are pretty special too!

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in family, Farm Bureau, FFA, food, livestock care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FFA Comes to Church

  1. Theo says:

    Thanks for you comments about FFA. It is a super organization. Two of our 3 sons were members and one went on to be a State officer-was a impressive oppertunity!!

Leave a Reply

