It Took 40 Days But It Finally RAINED!

A WELCOME SIGHT!

Early this morning I heard a very unfamiliar sound tapping on our bedroom window.  I opened my eyes and to my surprise it was RAIN!

I thought it had forgotten how to rain in our neck of the woods.  I wanted to be certain I wasn’t dreaming so I sat on the edge of our bed and watched the rain fall; it was such a welcome sight!  All of the rain dances and prayers were finally answered.  I said a prayer of thanks to the Lord for once again providing for our needs.

I didn’t know at 3:50 am how much rain we would get but I knew any amount was going to be a blessing.  Imagine my surprise though when I checked the rain gauge this morning and found an entire INCH of rain in it!  I know it may not sound like a lot, and it won’t put an end to our drought, but it couldn’t have come at a better time!  Our last rain was 40 days ago exactly.

Kevin has a little bit of a smile on his face today, which is a welcome sight over the look of worry he has worn for the last 30 days!  We knew when we decided to farm it wouldn’t be an easy road.  We also knew we would face many challenges along our path.  Its days like this though that gives you the hope you need to keep marching forward.

Our prayers have been answered for today and for this we are very grateful.  We know we need to keep praying for rain, especially for the areas that missed the rain we had.  Even though this rain may not help this year’s crops, it’s a start for better crops next year!  Here’s to a better 2013!

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agchat, agriculture, family, food, Uncategorized, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Took 40 Days But It Finally RAINED!

  1. J. Rhoades says:

    Not sure yet how much we got this morning, hopefully we’ll be getting some this afternoon. Glad to hear you got some too!

Leave a Reply

