Run Chelle, Run!

I’ve been absent from my blog for over a month and I have to admit I have missed blogging.  My absence in blogging is because I am guilty of being a mom in my spare time; a soccer mom, track mom, 4-H mom, softball mom and farm mom.  I have spent the last six weeks of my life running after our kids.  In a nutshell, this is what my family’s last six weeks have looked like:

Monday’s after school we have track practice and soccer practice, followed by softball pitching practice and then working with the kids’ 4-H livestock and homework.  Tuesday’s are a slower day, we only have track practice and the 4-H livestock to work with, followed by homework and pitching a few softballs in the yard.  Wednesday’s we have track practice, church, and of course, the 4-H livestock and homework.  Thursdays are probably our busiest day; we have track practice, soccer practice, archery practice, 4-H livestock and homework.  By the time Friday rolls around, my car is out of gas which really stinks because track practice is before school on Friday’s.  Saturday’s are full of laundry and cleaning.  And somehow in all of this mess Conner finds time to gather the eggs and clean them each day.  (Where there is a will there is a way!)

Last week I was getting pretty tired of the running and I was almost ready to tell the kids something was going to have to give.  That’s when the track meets started and I wasn’t sure how we were going to fit everything in.  At the first track meet I saw how Rachelle’s hard work had paid off.  Last year she ran the mile in 6 minutes and 20 seconds.  I thought that was amazing but this year she ran the mile in 6 minutes flat.  At her first meet she placed 1st in three of her running events and 2nd in the high jump.  I was so proud of her!

The next night at Conner’s soccer practice I saw the same hard work paying off for him.  His skills are still developing but he was doing so much better than he was 3 weeks ago at this time.  And he has kept his grades up in all of his subjects and even improved in math.

Rachelle and Conner’s achievements are a result of what they have learned working on our family farm.  They have grown up watching their dad work long hours in the heat and cold to make sure our farm and livestock were taken care of.  They were right beside him most days helping and they know how important it is to always give 100% to every task.

Rachelle running in a school track relay team in 2005. Who knew this would be the start of her love for running.

Kevin has never been able to watch Rachelle in a track meet, mainly because track falls during planting season.  Rachelle is ok with that because she knows dad’s job isn’t a 9-5 job.  Kevin actually laughs at me when I tell him how exciting her track meets are.  He always compared the excitement of a track meet to watching paint dry.  I told him he just had to be there to feel the excitement of seeing these kids break their personal best times or to win a race.  Last night though, Kevin did something I have NEVER seen him do before.  He parked the tractor and walked away from the field to drive 16 miles to see Rachelle run in her track meet.  I was so proud of him!   The smile on Rachelle’s face was priceless when she saw her dad sitting in the stands.  And it was great to hear him cheering beside me, “Run Chelle, Run!”

Now he knows the excitement of watching a track meet and Rachelle got to hear her dad cheering her on as she ran.  She won all three of her races last night, ‘just for her dad’ she said.   And when her last race was over, back to the field Kevin went.  She was in bed asleep when he came home at 10:30, but I think they both went to bed with a smile on their faces.  It’s moments like these that make all of the running and hard work worth it!

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agriculture, family, livestock care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Run Chelle, Run!

  1. Love that he found a way and hope he can do it more! No need to feel bad about not blogging more…. I’ll give you a good way. While you’re at her next meet, have your smartphone or tablet with you. When an event Chelle isn’t in comes up, just type up a couple of paragraphs. You can set up your blog to accept posts by email. :-) If you want to think through a list of subjects you want to blog about first, that gives you something to take the first step. Then next time you have 10-15 minutes you can check out of something on, you have topics to write about!

  2. Chris Chinn says:

    Great idea JP! Thanks for the help!

Leave a Reply

