The Aftermath of the Birds Point Levee Breach

In May I blogged about the US Army Corps of Engineers causing intentional breaches in the Birds Point Levee in Southeast Missouri.  The land that was protected by this levee produces enough food to feed over 1 MILLION people a year.  When the levee was breached, the crop losses were valued over $85 million.  The impact to the economy was over $156 Million in losses. 

Many people are curious about what has happened since this man made breach took place.  What impact has the breach had on the farmland that was protected by the Birds Point Levee?  What has happened to the families who owned this land or owned homes near the levee?  Many people said the impact would be small, others said their land wouldn’t be farmed again for many years.  Many feared the levee wouldn’t be replaced.     

I found this video and it answered many of these questions.  This video not only explains what is happening now, it shows what the farms and homes look like after the levee was breached.  The US Army Corps of Engineers is not planning to restore the levee to the original height of 62.5 feet.  Instead, they are only going to rebuild the levee to 51 feet.  In the last 20 years, the water level at this levee has been over 51 feet numerous times, I think 9 times to be exact.  The people living in this area only want their levee built back to where it stood before this man made disaster took place.  I don’t blame them and I support them.  I was always taught by my parents that if I break something, I either fix it or replace it.  This is what the US Army Corps of Engineers needs to do as well.  They need to be held accountable for their actions.   

Please take a moment to watch this video and send a letter to your Elected Officials and the Corps of Engineers and ask them to restore the Birds Point Levee to it’s original height and structure. 

This community produces enough food to feed over 1 MILLION people.  Our world population is growing, we can not afford to lose this prime farm ground year after year.  I know it’s easy to focus on our own day to day lives but I know if I lived in this community, I would appreciate all the help I could get.  Afterall, it could be my community or your community next that is in need.

http://disasteratbirdspoint.com

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agchat, agriculture, food, government, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Aftermath of the Birds Point Levee Breach

  1. 12 times in the last 20, 12 times…

Leave a Reply

