Where Has The Summer Gone?

I was recently reminded by a good friend that summer has almost come to an end.   In 16 days, I will wake my kids up and send them to school to start another school year.   While many of my friends are READY to send their kids to school, I am not.  I wish I had another 6 weeks with my kids.   Where has the summer gone?   

Conner & Rachelle waiting in line to ride go karts while on summer vacation.

I remember when my kids were toddlers I would hear parents say, “once your kids start school the years will fly by.”  I never understood what they meant until my kids started school.  Our summers do fly by now and I am left each summer wondering where the time has gone.  These wise parents were spot on.  

When school ends we have basketball and softball camps for two weeks.  Then we have a month of summer baseball and softball games.  Many weeks we will have 5 or 6 ballgames to try and attend.  Once that has been completed the county fair rolls around and our kids work diligently to put the finishing touches on all of their 4-H projects.  By the end of July, our schedule starts to calm down a bit, just in time for….school to start. 

Somewhere in all of this chaos we try to fit in a summer vacation for our kids.  Our family is like every other family, our schedules are crazy, we are busy with work and our kids are involved in many activities.  We are your typical American family I think. 

Living on a farm complicates family vacation time a bit though.  Our job doesn’t have set hours and we don’t have a co-worker who can act as a back up if we need to be gone.  We were reminded of this just a few weeks back.  I had a meeting to attend in Southern Missouri and we had planned to make it a family vacation.  The kids were excited to have some one-on-one time with their dad while I attended my meetings. 

The morning we were supposed to leave for vacation Kevin broke the news to us that he would not be going with us on our vacation.  He couldn’t leave the farm because the baler had broken down and he had to get the hay baled.  As you might imagine, we were disappointed.  For me though it was just part of being married to a farmer, we learn to roll with unexpected changes because on a farm, nothing is ever the same.  Our plans always change because we depend on the weather and livestock in our daily routines.  For the kids though, they were not ready to accept his news as easily. 

We went on our trip without Kevin and tried to make the best of it.  Yes, Kevin was missed dearly but the kids still had some summer fun in the sun.  While I was attending my meeting our kids were being entertained by our Missouri Farm Bureau friends.  The kids played miniature golf, rode go karts and went swimming with our friends.

It’s been a busy summer around our farm.  (I’m sure our summer hasn’t been any busier than our friends and neighbors who live in town).  I do long for the days when our summers were not so busy even though I love watching my kids play sports and being involved in 4-H.  I wish I had just 6 more weeks of summer with my kids to be lazy and schedule NOTHING!  I wish I could freeze these last 16 days of summer and play them in slow motion!  We have a lot to do in 16 days, a lot of no planning and doing nothing!  I want my kids to enjoy every minute of their summer because life passes us by too quickly.

About Chris Chinn

My husband, Kevin, and I are 5th generation farmers. We live on our family hog farm in Missouri with our two children. Our dream is that our children will have the opportunity be the 6th generation of farmers in our family.
This entry was posted in agchat, agriculture, education, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Has The Summer Gone?

  1. kellymrivard says:

    Great post, Chris! My own summer has flown by as well. I am a few years away from having kids to spend a summer vacation with, but I’m young enough to still see it from their eyes. Trust me, the summers get faster as faster, the closer they get to the day when there is no more “summer break.” Before you know it, they’ll be taking summer internships halfway across the country…or maybe that’s just me…

    Thanks for sharing a mom’s perspective on busy rural summers!

    • Chris Chinn says:

      Good Luck Kelly on your intership! Your right, my kids will be leaving home before I know it and I don’t EVEN want to think about that! Enjoy your internship and summer!

Leave a Reply

